Concrete Sustainability Council, towards a sustainable, safe, durable and comfortable future

More about us  


The Concrete Sustainability Council expresses its appreciation to all persons involved in the development of the  previous CSC-certification system versions launched since January 2017.

This new update of the certification system, Version 2.1, was once again developed in a collaborative approach. Main contributors include:


  • Buzzi Unicem Group, represented by Isabella Bussi
  • CEMEX, represented by Enrique Terrado
  • HeidelbergCement, represented by Christian Artelt, Hartmut Drescher, Zsofia Gera, Kyle Gilmour, Carolyn Jewell, Patrick Liebmann, and Michael Müller-Pfeiffer
  • LafargeHolcim, represented by Antonio Carrillo,  Cédric de Meeûs, Cherry Chan, Eberhard Liebig, Konrad Stemmler, Marc Holberg, and Michael Scharpf 

Industry Associations

  • BTB, represented by Andreas Tuan Phan
  • ERMCO, represented by Marco Borroni
  • Fedbeton, represented by Bert Schrijver 
  • GCCA, represented by Andrew Minson
  • THBB, represented by Asli Özbora

Certification Bodies

  • Kiwa, represented by Pleun Kleinveld

who helped develop the system via their contributions to the CSC’s Technical and Executive Committee and via providing their dedicated expertise and guidance


Civil Society Organisations

  • Bellona, represented by Ana Serdonen
  • Birdlife International, represented by Martin Hollands
  • Fauna & Flora International (FFI), represented by Anna Lyons and Samir Whitaker
  • Friends of Nature Lebanon, represented by Myrna Semaan
  • World Business Council for Sustainable Development WBCSD, represented by Cristiana Ciaraldi


Labor Organisations

  • IG BCE and IG BAU, represented by Norbert Steinert


Green Building Councils

  • BREEAM, represented by Daniel Doran
  • DGNB, represented by Anna Braune, Johannes Kreißig and Karen Sternsdorff
  • GBCI Europe, represented by Kay Killmann



  • ETH Zürich, represented by Guillaume Habert
  • Hochschule München, represented by Natalie Eßig
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), represented by Jeremy Gregory
  • OST-Ostschweizer Fachhochschule, represented by Simone Stürwald
  • RWTH Aachen University, represented by Thomas Matschei

who, by means of their expertise and guidance, provided valuable input during the CSC’s Stakeholder Consultation Process.

The Concrete Sustainability Council would like to thank all contributors for their valuable input and in particular for their personal dedication and engagement throughout the whole development process of this new CSC-certification system version.